Posted by: SM | April 23, 2013

The Love You Take…

The last year of my life has been one of the best ones yet, which I guess is what you are going for really. No one ever sits there and goes, 2012 was good but 1995, now that was a year! Oh wait, that was the year Oasis were bigger than Jesus, okay that WAS a pretty good year but in the most part I think you want the times to get better. I moved here just over a year ago and I have to say I do not regret it for a single moment. My room mate and I have this kind of schizo thing going on in that, we love the friend within but at the same time we freely admit that the room mate annoys the fuck out of us. That’s healthy. It’s better than us both walking on water.

Guess what, I have a life now, friends outside the few that I have treasured for many years. I decided to get social and try meeting more people since I was going to live in a place with as much buzz in it as this village. Keeping a core group of friends is good and I’m proud to have them but I also know my life changed the minute I opened up and let someone new in. I was not planning on it, I didn’t go looking for it, but I wouldn’t be without the person now.

Geographically soon I will have to be, as their journey is taking them somewhere else. But its not the end of our story and I’m getting my head round that slowly. The move to the village has opened up chances for me that I never even knew I was looking for. I knew what I was doing and I knew where I was happy and that was enough for me, one slight change and suddenly you are turning round and talking like other people talk, skipping round the room genuinely not just because you think it’s the thing to do.

I’ve smiled more genuine smiles in this past year than ever before and it’s not all down to Man v Food and the fact I realised my PS3 plays Blu ray… although THAT realisation was pretty feckin awesome let me tell you.

The change is gonna come and it has to, it’s for the best and I’m very proud that it is going to. For everything I have been given I like to think I have given equal amounts in return. I realised, after a loooooooooooong time, that this change isn’t happening without me, it includes me, it’s a new chapter and gives me a whole load of new places to visit.

I’ll look after the village!

Saying hello to someone can actually really physically change your life, who knew?!

Peace, Love and Lego

Simon Andrew Twinkle Toes BA. Hons

Leave a Reply

Categories

