Posted by: SM | December 19, 2011

III – Take a Second Look

Funny story. Both of us read this really important letter, I quivered for a few seconds at the enormity of what it meant and we both took it in and made plans for sensible eating and regular blood pressure checks right up to the date of the operation. About 6 weeks eating like one of the contestants in I’m A Celebrity (though Claire had worked out I could have this pizza with a hole in it filled with salad, they do it at Pizza Express apparently).

It’s all going swimmingly until I pick up the letter to read again.

“We are pleased…. Elective Care… December 19th 2011.”

I’m sorry, what? Did someone just change the letter while I was in the other room? December? Like, just over 2 weeks from now? Oh and there’s another letter too…

Pre Operative Assesment, Monday 5th December 2011…”

Oh bugger me! I don’t know how I missed it, I don’t know how it didn’t register. I was not expecting the date from the phone call weeks ago to change. Claire is once again brilliant: “We can do this, you’ll get out Christmas Eve!”

I ring the hospital to confirm and calmely and politely point out the change of date: “Oh yes it changed.”

Yep. See that, thanks very much. No shit Sherlock. Wooooooooooooooah Nelly.

Buckle up folks!

S.A.M xx

Leave a Reply

Categories

