Posted by: SM | June 19, 2009

Will Grace and Frasier, Sex and of course the City

One of my friends told me that he knew I was gay as soon as he met me, and I listened to him then because his view completely matched that of my closest family members and went against everyone that reacted in a shocked way to the ‘discovery’.  His reasons maybe stereotypical somewhat as I discuss them here, one was that I knew how to dress, another was the Wham song as my ring tone and the third was the fact that I have Fraiser, Will and Grace and Sex and the City box sets. I don’t think much of his observation, I think the clues have been there for my whole life. I may have only now jumped on the bus but I’ve always had the ticket.

Part of my head is always questioning stuff like this at the moment, and it can lead to some fun discoveries. I was once obsessed with figuring out the difference between Diet Coke and Coke Zero at 4am. So just for a laugh I typed words into a well known search engine and attempted to disprove his theory that only girls and gays like these programmes. It isn’t true. Well, what I found out was more that more thought has been put into it than I knew…Garry Maddox writes

“For Sex and the City, it seemed the formula was to write gay male and cast straight female. Its (gay) creator, Darren Star (pictured), devised one of the gayest hit series featuring straight characters in television history. The lives of the glamorous central characters – and apologies here to gay readers who dislike the stereotyping as much as anyone – revolve around sex, shopping, gossip and bawdy humour. As City Journal has noted, the show is a Yellow Pages of Manhattan’s status fashion objects, including Prada skirts, DKNY jeans and shoes by Manolo Blahnik and Jimmy Choo. “The heroines lust after these pricey and au courant accoutrements of success … They size up men with a similarly calculating eye for surfaces.”

This hardly changed, even when Miranda had a baby.

While Sex in the City has thrived on sharp, witty writing and its clever dealings with the struggle for love, it’s part of a subtle shift on US television. As The New York Times noted two years ago, openly gay writers and producers have been transforming TV comedy since Ellen came out in the late 1990s. The result has been hit sitcoms such as Will & Grace and “lots of nudging and winking” in shows focusing on heterosexual characters.

Even in less accepting times, many saw old shows such as The Odd Couple, Cagney and Lacey and The Golden Girls as having a gay sensibility, even though the central characters were heterosexual.

And what about Frasier? One gay spokesman, as quoted in The New York Times, saw it as a show about “two stereotypical gay men, except they sleep with women”. FAIRFAX DIGITAL

So it seems the theory of a Pink Triology is valid. I don’t care. I like all three and I like Buffy and Angel too. Sue me!

Interesting reading though. And Coke Zero is the true diet version of Coke in that it’s the same recipe as Coke just no sugar. You would think that Diet Coke would be the same recipe without sugar, but nope. DC is a completely different recipe to Coke. In case you wondered.

In a bit

Moulty x

Leave a Reply

Categories

