Posted by: SM | December 16, 2007

Leap of Faith

Jan 1st 2007

At the moment my head is enjoying the fact that all we know is that we don’t know how it’s going to be. If someone would have told me this time last year that so much was on the verge of changing I would have told you to take a hike. I knew where I was going last year and I was happy to get there, then came changes, and I was happier at the end of the year than I even was at the start of it. Personally for both my family and I things went tits up at various points last year but I guess looking back now they all affect the people we are so all these experiences, both good and bad, are essential. A very wise scouser oncesaid that people have a “fear of the unknown. Unknown is what it is, accept that and it’s plain sailing.” Click the quote to find out who it was.

He may well have been on to something, after all, he was the egg man. Last night I sat in this posh bar in Manchester watching three guys I didn’t know have conversations I was not part of and watching one of them drink this strawberry beer thing and it dawned on me that I didn’t even know I would be there, on the curry mile in Rusholme for New Year. We don’t know what is around the corner, all we can do is make sure whatever we do makes us happy, and try our best to limit the stuff that doesn’t make us happy. A friend of mine gave me her advice for the year and it makes good sense, as much as any that were thrown my way last night. Her advice was simple. 

Life is short. Break the rules. Forgive quickly. Kiss slowly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably. Never regret anything that made you smile.

So as we step backwards off the cliff to begin our climb through the year, however frightening it is, it is all part of the game. 

All the best for the New Year, good look with your own cliff.

Turris fortis mihi deus
Simon

Leave a Reply

Categories

