Posted by: SM | December 15, 2007

That’s When I Need My Father’s Eyes

December 13th 2006

It’s official, two days into my day off and I am as bored as bored can be. I’ve watched all the Paramount ‘comedy during the day’ shows and ‘King of Queens’ still isn’t funny. I refuse to watch Vanessa, Jez Kyle or whatever the other things are but I did manage to watch Pop Years, 1993 and I have an argument to pick with them. This was the year of Meatloaf’s return to the charts with ‘Id Do Anything for Love brackets but I won’t do that close brackets and for fifteen minutes they had stupid bloody celebrities going on about how “We never actually find out what he WOULDN’T do for love”, they kept going on about how the lyrics were I would do anything for love but I won’t do that and they didn’t know what that was. Really, it was funny when people didn’t know at first but really, people, the answer is obvious and it’s bugged me for years that people still go on about what ‘that’ was. So in the spirit of knowledge sharing and being completely and utterly bored off my mind I will show why there really is no mystery behind this. TV shows everywhere take note…

The examples are taken from the lyrics, hence they ARE IN THE SONG if you listen and this shouldn’t be nessecary but hell…

Example 1

But I’ll never forget the way you feel right now, oh no, no way
And I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that, I won’t do that
Anything for love, oh I would do anything for love
I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that, oh I won’t do that.

Example 2
But I’ll never forgive myself if we don’t go all the way tonight
And I would do anything for love, oh I would do anything for love
Oh I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that, no I won’t do that

I would do anything for love, anything you’ve been dreaming of
But I just won’t do that

Example 3
I know the territory, I’ve been around
It’ll all turn to dust and we’ll all fall down
And sooner or later, you’ll be screwing around

I won’t do that! No I won’t do that!
Anything for love, oh I would do anything for love
I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that, no I won’t do that.

Okay so end of argument, the ‘that’ which Mr Loaf will not do for love is and was in the song all along! Radio One, Two, Johnathon Woss, Peter Kay, anyone else…take note.

Elsewhere I’m starting to feel Christmassy although the good people at Amazon are yet to furnish me with any of the packages I require, naughty Amazon! I’m going into work late Friday afternoon so that I can take part in whatever festivities are going on and I hear there may be alcohol a flowin’ after work so there you go. Regular readers will also be aware of the planning that goes into a Royal Visit from my Mum and Dad, the cleaners have been and I have even started looking under the bed in the spare room for any crap that is bound to be there. My ex was a great box keeper so they have all been binned and the room looks almost fit for human habitation.

Importantly it is also my Dad’s birthday today so I couldn’t less this installment of SazmoWorld go without mentioning that fact. I’m allowed to get mushy coz it’s his birthday and it’s my site so sod off and read something else if you don’t like it. My Dad is ace and I never forget that fact, I’ve not been perfect and I’ve made a few choices I am sure he would rather I didn’t but if I’m making my own waves in this world it is because of the influence of my Dad (and me Mum too but it’s not her birthday so there), the independence he has helped to put within me and the frankly flawless musical tastes are also passed on from him. Parents are important, they are always in the back of my mind and they are there whenever I feel like I am coming off track a little. I try to let him know all of this stuff when it’s not his birthday but it is today so a perfect chance. I hope he enjoys his day and I hope he enjoys the top of the range CD player (with CD cartridge) that he bought on eBay for 99 English pennies. My Dad walked away with a good system which should have cost over 100 of the Queen’s pounds, for 99p because it was broken…apparently, except the seller made a mistake and it wasn’t quite the useless lump they thought it was!

Have a great Wednesday and Thursday all of you,
Peace, Love and Soul

Leave a Reply

Categories

