Posted by: SM | December 15, 2007

Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except Me and my Monkey

November 14th 2006

Good evening friends, great day for logging on. I’m about to vent so keep on reading and lets hope I dont say anything reckless. It’s been a while since my last post frankly because I didn’t have anything interesting to say, it would have been the “Dear Diary, Today was…” shite like Adrian Mole. I’m not like that, when I have something to get off my chest I will. This is, after all where the fun is!

It’s a great feeling when people think they know you and they really haven’t got a clue. It was really funny being sat in a bar with my team all telling me they were one hundred percent sure that I fancied the arse off a team member and that they were sure they knew who it was – funnier still they were a mile off! Anyone who spends more than five minutes with me is likely to find out who it is. Thing is, I haven’t told many people because I plan to do nothing about it. Case closed. Still like to keep people guessing though, especially with the person they thought it was. It’s natural though, get very friendly with someone and there is always someone ready to jump to the conclusion that you are more than friends. Every time I’ve actually got somewhere with someone it has always been when I least expect it. My secret is no secret really, it’s a firmly held belief that no-one will find me attractive and those that do must be mad. I have days when I don’t think I’ve been battered with the ugly stick but that’s the same for everyone I guess.

I have been in school and university relationships and they both ended badly. One ended because it felt like I had to make an appointment with the girl’s mates to actually see her and when we did it was like “Hello stranger, I remember you.” Me and her are actually good friends now and we laugh that we allowed other people to come between us and all that but that was years back. The University one is well documented and I don’t need to go there!

That’s all I have to say about that because people anything posted on journals can and will be used against you in the court of the workplace. Maybe I could say more, nobody seems to read this ruddy thing anyway :-). I’ve had many conversations with people that have started “Oh I really didn’t have you figured for that!”, surprised that I would be up for something when they haven’t really taken the time to get to know. I don’t bite, I’m a very nice person and those closest to me know this and as for everyone else well I’ll enjoy keeping them on their toes.

Some people say that it’s not that important to like the people you work with. I disagree. It’s vital because you spend more time with the people in work than you do at home, and the people you work with make up a large percentage of why you enjoy coming to work. If when you look around, those supposedly in a higher posistion than you (and on more money) are doing sweet FA then you are allowed to feel a little annoyed. If you think that you can do a job as well as someone higher than you then it is your responsibility to stick your CV in the mix and get the chance to. If you don’t go for it, you lose the right to complain about someone doing a job that is different to yours. It’s the old vote rule, if you vote you have a voice and can complain. You still have to work under the party in power even if you didn’t vote for them, but if you don’t use your vote then you lose the right to complain because when you had the chance to make a wave you negelected to do so.

Making waves and picking fights is acceptable sometimes, Saturday nights alright for that but the working week is not a bad place either.

Si

Leave a Reply

Categories

